Home >  Blog >  AUSMAC inaugural gathering

AUSMAC inaugural gathering

Posted on 5 June 2017
AUSMAC inaugural gathering

Monday June 5, 2017: AUSMAC (Australian Mission Action Committee) gathered today for its inaugural meeting at the De La Salle Provincial Office in Sydney.

Established by the Lasallian Mission Council (LMC), AUSMAC will serve to provide strategic leadership for the Lasallian mission in Australia. AUSMAC joins the Mission Action Committees (MACs) already established in New Zealand, Pakistan and PNG.

"This was the first meeting of a group of people who have the potential to gather some valuable insights into the Lasallian Mission in Australia in its own right. We have had MACs in the three other Sectors of the District for some time now, and there is a strong sense of hope that AUSMAC will make a positive contribution towards the work of the LMC," said Committee Chair," Michael Egan.

"AUSMAC is an opportunity to further promote the works and monitor specific lines of action designated in the District Plan," explained LMC Executive Director, Merv McCormack. 

The committee consists of eleven members, appointed by Br David Hawke for an initial three-year term to ensure optimal development of the Australian Sector.

LMC Operations Manager and AUSMAC member, Julie Alibrandi said, "I'm looking forward to seeing the committee in action, supporting as well as endorsing our work as well identifying other specific local needs."

"We look forward to contributing to the development of the next ANZPPNG District plan and the opportunities for representatives from a broad range of Australian works to have such a forum to meet," concluded Mick Egan.

Membership of AUSMAC for the period commencing 5 June, 2017 is:

  • Michael Egan- Chair: Director of LMC; Principal, LaSalle Catholic College, Bankstown
  • Br John Cantwell - Director Formation
  • Cara Benoit - Director of People and Culture, yourtown
  • Joyce Smith- Principal, Lasalle Academy, Lithgow
  • John Foley- Principal, St Michael's College, Adelaide
  • Br Steve Hogan- Principal, Oakhill College, Castle Hill
  • Brett Horton- Principal, Scarborough Catholic College, Brisbane
  • Miranda Chow - CEO Lasallian Foundation, Malvern
  • Michael Ucci- St Michael's College Old Collegian, and South Aust. Lasallian Team
  • Julie Alibrandi- Operations Manager LMC, Executive Officer
  • Merv McCormack- Executive Director LMC

Members of the AUSMAC Advisory Committee (top row): Director of Formation, Br John Cantwell; LMC Operations Manager, Julie Alibrandi; Principal John Foley of St Michael's College, Adelaide; Executive Director of LMC, Merv McCormack.
Front row: CEO of Lasallian Foundation, Miranda Chow; Michael Egan Chair, Director of LMC and Principal of LaSalle Catholic College, Bankstown; Michael Ucci- St Michael's College Old Collegian, and South Aust. Lasallian Team and Director of People and Culture,
yourtown - Cara Benoit.

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrintLaSalleContact UsYourTownKids Helpline