Home >  Blog >  Awards Night for Share the Mission Volunteers

Awards Night for Share the Mission Volunteers

Posted on 14 December 2015
Awards Night for Share the Mission Volunteers

A group of nine hard-working Young Lasallian volunteers have received awards for their commitment after giving up a year to help disadvantaged communities under the Share the Mission program.

Under the long-term Volunteer La Salle program, the nine Young Lasallians took up year long placements in Balgo Hills, Perth and Auckland.

They have been thanked for their efforts through a celebration dinner and awards night at the Tradies Event Centre at Caringbah in Sydney.

Prior to the awards, a celebration mass was held at St Aloysius Gonzaga Parish in Cronulla.

Four of the volunteers- Joshua Polkinghorne Richards, Parick Hurst, Olivia Dunn and Rosaline Setephano spent a year as volunteers at Luurnpa Catholic Primary School in the remote Indigenous community of Balgo Hills in Western Australia.

Two volunteers- Seamus Linehan and Alex Macmillan spent a year helping students at De La Salle College, Mangere East in Auckland and three other volunteers spent a year at La Salle College, Middle Swan in Perth- Meryla Lowther, Wilson Felise and Allen Laagaia.

The program has helped unite Young Lasallians from across our district with three New Zealanders volunteering for placements in Australia and one Australian spending a year in Auckland.

"The Share the Mission volunteers have had an amazing impact on the young people and the communities they have come into contact with", said Youth Ministry Coordinator Philippe Dulawan.

"I want to thank their work supervisors and mentors who have played a crucial role supporting our volunteers during their work".

A similar event will be held on 30 January at Gymea in Sydney to commission a new group of Share the Mission volunteers in 2016.

Tags:Young Lasallians
Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrintLaSalleContact UsYourTownKids Helpline