Home >  Blog >  Middle Swan Book Launch

Middle Swan Book Launch

Posted on 5 March 2018
Middle Swan Book Launch

On Wednesday 21 February, La Salle College Middle Swan in Western Australia hosted a very special evening with 250 Lasallians gathered for a memorable,  'Making A Difference' Book Launch. The successful evening was catered by the culinary delights of the Hospitality students from La Salle College.

Making A Difference is a historical account capturing the challenges, triumphs and celebrations of La Salle College since its foundation in 1954. Filled with photographs and interviews and written through the lens of a history buff and former Principal of La Salle College, Mr Clem Mulcahy, this is a truly remarkable insightful narrative.

"Congratulations to La Salle College for presenting a wonderful entertaining evening at the Making A Difference book launch. Anita and I felt very privileged receiving our invitation and it gave us the opportunity to catch up with "old" friends from our school days. We would like to pass on our thanks to the organisers, to the young caterers who provided tasty food. A big thanks to all those students and staff members who made a difference in ensuring that all guests and special invitees were looked after. It makes one very proud to be called a Lasallian," said Mr John Croswell.

Photographs of this event can be found on La Salle College's Facebook page on a featured Monday Memories post. To view these photographs, please 'like' the La Salle College Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/lasallecollegemiddleswan/ and you will be kept informed of any events happening at the College through your news feed. To purchase a copy of the book signed by Clem Mulcahy, please download the application form from the website https://www.lasalle.wa.edu.au/community/community-events/60th-anniversary-year or call the College Accounts Department on 9274 6266.

During the evening La Salle College Deputy Principal and Master of Ceremonies, Mrs Fiona Flower acknowledged the presence of the following:

  • The Honourable Michelle Roberts MLA, Minister for Police and Member for Midland
  • Dr Debra Sayce, Acting Executive Director, Catholic Education WA and La Salle College Principal 2011
  • Br David Hawke, Brother Visitor of the Australian, New Zealand, Pakistan and Papua New Guinea District of the De La Salle Brothers

De La Salle Brothers

  • Br Joe Gabel (former staff member of De La Salle, Midland)
  • Br Rory Higgins
Josephite Sisters and former staff members
  • Sr Kathleen Dawe Head Mistress La Salle Girls' School 
  • Sr Frances Maguire
  • Sr Dora Maguire
  • Sr Margaret Scharf 
  • Sr Regina O'Neill
  • Sr Kathleen Hitchcock (Regional Leader of the Sisters in WA)
  • Br Robert Stewart -  Order of the Friars Minor and former La Salle College staff member

Former La Salle College Principals

  • Clement Mulcahy
  • Patricia Rodrigues
  • Michael Ciccarelli
Former College Chaplains
  • Fr Ian Esmond and
  • Fr Leonard Macionczyk SDS

1954 Foundation students

  • Charlie Calleja
  • Kevin Cusworth
  • Ron Dullard Former Director of Catholic and Hall of Excellence Inductee
  • Pat Hegney
  • Peter Loughton
  • John O'Neil
  • Felix Ragus and
  • Ron Reid
Hall of Excellence Inductee 
  • Stacey Williams

Board Chairs

  • Gren Courtland (inaugural Board Chair of the College)        
  • Ross Scarfone 
  • Max Williams             
  • Kevin Smith                
  • Peter Naylor               
  • Darryl Burton 
  • Joe Marino                  
Former Head Girls and Boys
Harold O'Neill - 1958
Pat Branson - 1961
Gregory Willis - 1962
Barbara Burton (Nee Williams) - 1977
Lou Muriale -1982
Deidre Westerhout (Nee Rebeiro) - 1987
Todd Stopp - 1989
Brad Smith  - 1993
Joanne Pollock (Nee Kosovich) - 1994
Bryn Stopp - 1995
Pauline Bantock (Nee Carr) - 1999
Lucy Mulcahy- 2000               


Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrintLaSalleContact UsYourTownKids Helpline