Home >  Blog >  NZ Schools Finalists in 2018 Prime Minister's Awards

NZ Schools Finalists in 2018 Prime Minister's Awards

Posted on 23 May 2018
NZ Schools Finalists in 2018 Prime Minister's Awards

Some very exciting news from across the ditch, De La Salle College Mangere and John Paul College Rotorua in New Zealand, were recently announced as finalists in the 2018 Prime Ministers Awards for Excellence in Education. Out of 127 nationwide entries, only 11 finalists across four categories were named on Monday 22 May, which included the two New Zealand Lasallian Schools.

De La Salle College, Auckland 

Faculty of Science: Finalist in the Excellence in Teaching and Learning 

With such a high percentage of Pasifika students, the Science Faculty at De La Salle has developed its own unique Pasifika Education Policy and has identified key practices' that assist the students. Staff continually strive to provide a classroom environment where the student-teacher relationship is paramount, and where quality innovative teaching is a transformative force in the lives' and futures of the young men at the College. Teachers in the Science Faculty have been fully engaged in upskilling and gaining new knowledge, which has included regular attendance at science conferences, sharing professional development, and ongoing collaboration with outside agencies. Best practice, a continual review cycle and a willingness to adapt to the individual student has seen rich rewards for all involved. Student engagement increased with a wider opportunity for learning experiences which are real world and culturally responsive. Whnau/Aiga are more informed and connected, and student attendance and participation has risen significantly.

John Paul College, Rotorua

Finalist in the Education Focus Prize 

John Paul College and the Learning Support Centre set out to create an inclusive environment with a wrap-around service for all students. The College and the Centre wanted to raise achievement levels by engaging and connecting more with the students and their whnau, and by adapting teaching practices. All students were encouraged to take ownership of the school. As a result, environmental projects were initiated. Students are now proud and enjoy spending time in their school grounds.Staff made getting to know each student a priority, in order to create tailored learning pathways for each and every student. This resulted in a significant rise in student achievement levels across the school.

Congratulations to De La Salle, Mangere, and John Paul College, Rotorua.

We wish you all the best for the final awards ceremony. Winners will be announced at Parliament House on July 3.





Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrintLaSalleContact UsYourTownKids Helpline